The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

Thanks to the development of technology and science, people’s lives have witnessed a dramatic progress, especially in the improvement of people’s health with the most modern medical equipment and treatments. It is predictable that the remarkable upturn in life expectancy has been a trend in many countries as well as impacted both positively and negatively on their societies. Some people are concerned that increasing numbers of old people will cause some disadvantages that mean more spending on health care as well as creating enormous demands on a nation’s health service. Obviously, the more chances of the elderly suffering from serious illnesses increases, the more growing need for medical treatment. Another drawback is that young adults increasingly have to look after elderly relatives so they have less time for their entertainment, developing themselves and being limited in promotion. In addition, while working adults will be under a lot of pressure from greater tax burden, the older without insurance or pension also work with all their might to cover their everyday needs. However, governments will receive less money in taxes in relation to the population size. Additionally, the increasing number of older adults is more likely to exacerbate overpopulation worldwide, which will lead to many overloaded facilities such as hospitals, retirement homes and housing provision. As far as the economy is concerned, this issue leading to a budget deficit demands a careful treatment of the government. On the other hand, older adults have been appreciated as the valuable and essential resource to their communities with material and immaterial contributions which benefit the younger. For instance, I can seek advice from the older generation and talk with more senior mentors so that I can learn by experience in life easily. Furthermore, one benefit associated with the growth of older people is the strengthening of family bonds. When the young have more talk with their elder family members, they will have more chances to understand thoroughly about each other, erasing the generation gap. With regard to the elderly, the increased longevity might create many opportunities for them to pursue their passion as well as their working for the social advance, encouraging the young to inherit and attempt more for further success that results in a better quality of life for the elderly. In short, the aging population causes both advantages and drawbacks to societies. Therefore, the governments in each country need to take strict measures against this issue and launch aging-friendly programs as well as efficient policies so as to reduce the negative effects and ensure the human standard of living.