It’s time to ban social media. It has been shown that it has made life worse for people all over the world, from politics, to self-image, to the spread of disinformation. It is a social experiment that has not worked and it is time to say goodbye.To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

These days, social networking sites have gained in popularity as a substitute to face-to-face communication. In my opinion, despite some undeniable benefits, the growing prevalence of online media brings about more drawbacks. On the one hand, perhaps the most noticeable advantage of online platforms is that people can keep in touch with their beloved ones, regardless of geography locations. For example, members of families who are apart because of working or studying can easily use virtual conversational exchanges such as video calls or texts to keep their families updated with the latest news in their lives. Second, social networks connect people sharing the same interests no matter where they are. For example, Facebook offers its 2.4 billion users the freedom to join a myriad of groups and events which match their interests. On the other hand, the setbacks of social media are more concerning. First, powerful social technologies downplay the importance of direct contact. Many people prefer to interact online on their electronic devices rather than physical interaction, preventing them from engaging in real-life relationships. In this sense, social media will impede real-life communication skills such as body language or eye contact which are actually of great significance in their lives. Second, the excessive reliance on social media to exchange socially also adversely affects the way users communicate. They get into the habit of using abbreviations, slang, and emotion icons to express their thoughts and feelings, widening the gap between them and people of other generations, even creating some sorts of misunderstanding and discomfort informal situations. In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, in spite of unprecedented conveniences and comfort of online communication, I am of the opinion that the disadvantages that they have brought to our lives are more significant.