Some people believe that scientists have the greatest influence on the world. Other people, however, think that the influence of politicians is greater. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been argued that politicians have a great impact on society. Although it is true in some context, I believe that scientists are the real influencers in most cases. There are several reasons why the people in politics can influence community. They are public figures and that is why can help in solving domestic issues. With resources, funds and power given to them from government they can help maintain the local infrastructure. Different resources can be allocated from them to build schools, colleges, universities and parks which can help the community. Most of these tasks however are local not global. Another reason is that because most of them are good speakers they can spread awareness regarding important issues. By highlighting key issues of society, they can help people by starting a campaign in order to solve any issue. In Pakistan, the prime minister Imran Khan identified the issue of global warming and air pollution and started a billion-tree plantation campaign. Under his leadership about a billion trees have been planted in three years and the topic of environmental preservation is now a mandatory subject in syllabus. Scientist however are the key influencers globally. Firstly, they are working day and night especially in health care department to serve and save millions all around the world. In recent COVID pandemic, scientists have provided the world with vaccine in record shortest time, thus saving millions of lives. Secondly, over centuries they have sacrificed their lives, comfort and families in order to make discoveries which are now considered a structural component of society. Mobile phones, internet, cars and machinery are a few examples through they have helped the world to become a global village in which we are living comfortably. In conclusion, politicians are influencing the local communities by solving domestic issues and spreading awareness, I am of the opinion that scientists have served globally in terms of health care and discoveries.