Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, food and beverage industry is considered major component in national economy. In this concept, numerous manufactures use sweeteners as attractive factors, left behind negative potential health problems. This perspective leads to an argument that sugary products should be elevated in price to reduce consumption. However, I strongly believe that this is not the possible solution for this issue, which will be explained further below. First of all, common taste of sweetness is ultimately difficult to adjust. In other words, some manufacturers use sugar in their products to satisfy their customer sense. For example, a brand of coffee named Nestcafe had reduced their sweet level in canned milk coffee in Vietnam market, their strategy meant to emerge the awareness of diabetes; nevertheless, they failed to hold 30% of their customers over their rival, Highland coffee brand. Hence, sweet accommodation would be more harm than good in this strict industry. Secondly, manufacturers would find other resources if sugar cost is unproperly high, this could result in unpredictable consequences. Because chemical sweetener which is easily synthesized from artificial factors becomes more and more popular recently, entrepreneurs may utilize it as a substitution in case of unaffordable sugary cost. For instance, the investigation in 2018 across multiple street stores in Vietnam, 60% of food and drink sellers use chemical sugar in their dishes to serve temporary customers. The long term affect of this artificial substitution, nonetheless, has never been assured by scientists so far. Thus, costly true sugar is harmful in some cases. In conclusion, high levels of sugar in industrial products which could cause harm to health emerge the argument of elevating sugary price. By several disadvantages I mentioned above, this solution would not work effectively. In order to encourage less sugary consumption, multiple strategies should be approved to illustrate drawbacks of high sugary levels on health.