International travel is becoming cheaper, and more and more countries open their door and with more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

There is not any doubt that international travel has become affordable and more nations receiving more visitors. Some people argue that it gives benefit to the overall country economy and its resilience. On the contrary, some party believes it brings negative effect to the environment. I tend to believe that increased tourism brings more benefits than drawbacks. As a positive impact, I reckon that the increase in tourism opens the opportunity for the local economy to grow by creating more job opportunities for local residents. For instance, domestic inhabitants are able to open up hotels, restaurants, and tour providers to serve the massive amounts of tourists. Additionally, the low-cost travel allows more people across nations to learn and understand about each country’s culture and values hence would encourage social resilience. For example, people would be more appreciative and embrace differences such as language and mindset. Therefore, in my perspective, an increase in tourism brings benefits to the local economy and overall relationships across nations. On the other hand, a flock of travellers’ visits resulted in more waste and garbage. The visitors tend to have the impulsive trigger to purchase unnecessary stuff and throw the garbage in the tourist spot. Furthermore, household waste from hotels and restaurants is generally being produced more than usual during the high season. Which affects the general condition of the environment around the touristy places. In conclusion, having analyzed both advantages and disadvantages, I believe that we gain more benefits than drawbacks from a lower cost of international travel that increases tourism.