If a person is found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol while driving, they should be banned from driving for life, whether they were involved in an accident or not. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that those driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs should be restricted from driving for a lifetime, irrespective of their involvement in an accident. I completely agree with this statement as this would not only lower the number of accidents on the road but also would encourage people to reduce the consumption of alcohol or drugs in general.  One of the main reasons behind the lifelong ban is that it would reduce the number of road accidents. This is to say that people would be in their senses while driving and thus would obey all the rules and regulations, as a result, it would help save more lives from uncertain miss happening. For example, Dubai is one of the prime examples, as since they have imposed a ban on driving after consumption of any type of drug, it has resulted in lowering the number by more than half the percentage in comparison to the numbers before this change. Also, overall intake of drugs and alcohol would also be reduced because people would hesitate to drive on the road as a result of serious restrictions by the government. This is because people would never want their license to get discarded as transportation is one of the biggest aids to everyone’s life daily. For instance, people doing late-night parties would make sure not to consume any type of alcohol before driving on the road as they would be aware of the results of their actions.  In conclusion, I completely agree that a lifelong ban on driving should be imposed on people who drink and drive or consume any type of alcohol because it would result in a reduced number of accidents on the road saving priceless lives of innocent people and also would discourage people to consume drugs in general due to the serious consequence they will have to face after their actions.