Economic growth is one way to measure a country’s success, but what else should we look at? Which do you think is the most important?

A variety of economic indicators such as gross domestic product have been used to measure one nation ’s level of development. It is true that these quantitative methods are efficient to adapt but also have drawbacks. This essay will examine the various factors we can consider and explain why the level of citizens’ happiness is the most important. The scope of the economic market in a nation used to be regarded as the representation of prosperity since people believed that trade between locals or countries led to strong nations in which people could live successful lives. However, the success of a nation is not symbolized only in an economic part. Even though a nation has developed economically, there is a possibility that people cannot live safely because of the threat of war. Also, the gap between the rich and the poor might be severe, which results in deficits in infrastructure such as schools, electricity, and purified water in remote and rural areas. We cannot conclude that a nation with this circumstance is successful. I firmly believe that the overall level of satisfaction or happiness of people is the most crucial factor to consider in measuring the nation ’s success. Success is not an objective but a subjective thing. Nobody can judge easily whether someone is successful or not. The nations are the same. If the people ’s average level of satisfaction is high, the country is successful no matter their economy is developing and still has a long way to be a developed country. To conclude, although an economic approach is the easiest way to compare the countries’ success, qualitative factors such as the level of satisfaction of citizens are one of the most pivotal parts to assess nations.