In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, the financial responsibility for the care of elderly individuals has become a pressing issue in Britain. The question is raised as a consequence, of whether the family of the elderly has to afford the costs of this specialized service or whether the government shall proceed with considering the attendance with required facilities. In my opinion, the government should primarily be responsible for funding the elderly’s caregiving services. There are some societal issues such as economic considerations and the maintenance of quality standards which are in fact, quite essential for this kind of benefit. Therefore, cost and quality can be two of the main reasons the country's administration should consider this solicitude. Financially, governmental establishments should play a significant role in funding elderly attentiveness services, because, the expenditure of specialized care can sometimes surpass families' financial means. Furthermore, by allocating public funds, the governmental institutes can arrange the required facilities on a certain level with reasonable expense considering several individuals who have to be given carefulness. For instance, in my own experience, I have witnessed families struggling to afford the high costs of nursing homes, leading to difficult decisions and even compromises in the quality of concern provided. Moreover, government-funded attendance facilities are subject to strict grade standards and regulations, guaranteeing a certain level of attention and safety for elderly individuals, which lacking any of them, will cause serious difficulties for the elderly. For example, I experienced a private nurse challenging a wrong drug injection regarding a family’s grandfather who struggled unconscientious for some days merely because of the incompetence of the allocated nanny. In conclusion, whereas, family involvement in elderly caution is crucial, I mainly believe that the primary responsibility for funding should rest with the governmental institutions so that it can lessen the monetary loads on families, and maintain high-quality standards of care.