Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

It’s increasingly clear that humanity has strained and damaged the natural environment in myriad forms. While the government can create eco-friendly policies and do its part to bring about change, we as individuals have a crucial role to play as well. There are two main ways in which humans are detrimental to the environment: air pollution and waste. Gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global warming. This process is an irreversible trend and will have a lasting effect on the environment. Without enough green space to intake the carbon emissions, we are bound to suffer from it ourselves in the future. The other way is plastic waste. Customers in the restaurants are prone to use one-off utensils which are convenient and light-weight; shoppers opt for plastic bags rather than recycled ones. All these habits contribute to the tremendous amount of plastic waste in our life, which contaminate the air. On the one hand, governments have a crucial role in bringing out change. By encouraging “green” businesses and creating incentives for good resource management, they can help lead the way. Consider, for example, how US President Obama’s words and plans about a “green economy” have led to signs of renewed economic optimism in America. On the other hand, the public can also do a lot to make a difference. We can drive hybrid cars, conserve electricity and water, buy local organic food and support environmental friendly brands. These are sustainable practices that can create a ripple effect. In conclusion, surely individuals and governments must work together if we are to improve the environment. This is a problem that affects us all; its solutions must therefore involve us all.