Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that nations should not be over-reliant on imports and yield crops and vegetables themselves so that they can feed their own countrymen. This essay agrees with that statement because it increases availability and affordability. Countries depending on their in-grown supplies always have an adequate amount for their citizens, sometimes even in excess. Regulatory bodies and farmers alike have a complete understanding of their own soil, nutrients, seasons and land size. This ensures that they can predict bad weather and therefore can plan way ahead of time how much food they will require to offset the deficit caused by poor climate conditions. This in turn makes unavailability of eatables at any given point in time absurd. For instance, agricultural landowners in India can predict heavy monsoon based on their experience, therefore they plan their yields way in advance and keep them stocked early so that they never run out of items to sell. Excess reliance on imports for agricultural produce increases the cost of purchase. As you import items from other countries, you have to pay an import tax, excise duty, undergo bidding and then it is finally available in markets. The retailers then further markup these rates for profits, and sell to consumers. The final price of these imported goods becomes unaffordable. For example, the USA, Canada and the UK pay a huge premium for imported agricultural items from India, Vietnam and Bangladesh which they could have gotten at cheaper rates if they had grown them within their own borders. In conclusion, it makes no sense for states to pay such overhead costs and bring in food from other regions. Rather, they should look towards producing on their own land to boost availability at cheaper prices.