More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. What are the reasons for this movement? Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city.

Cities in the modern era are constantly changing and expanding as people move from the countrysides to cities. This essay will discuss the reasons underpinning this phenomenon and the challenges for migrants in cities. The primary/principal reason that draws migrants from the rural to metropolises is the demand for optimal living conditions. It is undeniable that rural areas are often economically depressed, dragging a scarcity of jobs, compared to fruitful and prosperous cities with countless opportunities. Hence, a myriad of people, especially the unemployed, would migrate to cities with one hope of accessing well-paying jobs to secure their lives and family. Another major contributor is seeking better living standards in cities. People believe they can lead a happy life in modernized societies as urban areas become more technology savvy with better social benefits like public health, education, transportation, sanitation, recreation, and other social amenities. Nevertheless, there is an array of difficulties migrants may face in cities, including the lack of qualifications and accommodation. An increasing number of employees concentrating in cities would make the labour market more competitive, and employees from rural areas frequently have fewer advantages than metropolitan in terms of their qualifications. Therefore, numerous people move to cities however remain unemployed for an extended period. In addition, when cities ' economy and expansion cannot match the speed of their population growth, overpopulation with slow renovation and improvement in infrastructure will lead to an imbalance between demand and supply of dwelling, driving the cost of estates in cities to skyrocket. This circumstance would drive migrants into a situation when their salaries are longer able to support the cost of living. In conclusion, it is evident that people are moving from rural areas to metropolises to pursue a better life for themselves and one's families. However, there are limitless obstacles like the qualification requirements and shortage/shortfall of housing that migrants might face to reach their goals.