In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development?

After the "Industrial Revolution" and with the mass production of goods, the culture of consumerism influenced the buying habits of the citizens. As a result, they started embracing and purchasing unnecessary consumer goods. I believe that regardless of the profit it brings, this habit is a negative development. Engagement in nonessential shopping activities is a factor contributing to poor working conditions. Due to the growing demand of the market, the factories look for significantly more workers to produce the products. In order to make this as profitable as possible, many factories may look to other countries as a way to outsource labour for cheap. Consequently, underpaying workers and disregarding safety has become a part of the production process only to gain slightly more financially. Moreover, the exploitation of women and children for cheap labour in these factories is increasing at a rapid rate that cannot be sustained. Some people argue that purchasing non-essential items puts the buyer in a state of euphoria. Engaging in large amounts of expenditure on useless materials provides a temporary distraction from everyday stressors. Therefore, it is very common to find individuals in developed countries turning to this activity of shopping whenever they seem to have imbalances in their mood states. However, this is simply an attempt to seek a temporary escape from their daily routines or in order to suppress certain emotions and feelings. In other words, it is not true happiness. Additionally, spending money on less-needed items can lead to stress and negative emotions in the long run because of the financial implications. In conclusion, although spending money on unnecessary products can have a positive impact on their emotional well-being, the good feeling only for a brief period of time and this shopping habit has negative impacts such as the rise of cheap labour.