Today parents spend little free time with their children. Why is it the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the fact that parents rarely make use of their quality time with their child in the current stage of time. From my personal perspective, I would contend that this phenomenon would do more harm than good towards family solidarity, especially for children. This essay is devoted to analyzing its negative influence, followed by some parallel reasons. It is irrefutable to note that parents have a tendency to be overwhelmed with the heavy workload from their occupation, which accidentally becomes one of the main justification for their lack of spare time. Since we are living in a competitive job market that requires not only high-level competence but also decent communication skills with others, the amount of time to fulfil those duties is never enough, let alone that for their child. In other words, it is understandable whether people are struggling to organize their free time so as to attend parenting courses due to the causes of hectic workload. While the aforementioned reasons are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if its undesirable impacts are being overlooked. Obviously, if parents dedicate a large amount of time to their work and seem to leave no time for their offspring, their children will easily be led to participate in some bad habits, which include committing a crime. Specifically, their cognitive development is not fully developed, thus they could be tempted by drugs or dope, even get enticed to steal money from their parents to buy those items. All of those consequences could happen whether there is no one to guide them and point out which is wrong and right to do. Hence, children will suffer from troublesome effects without judicious instruction from their mums and dads. To sum up, I am well convinced that parents should adjust the amount of time at work and take full advantage of their free time to spend with their child in order to provoke family solidarity as well as for the sake of their children's development.