Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

human history is one of the main subjects of study among scientists. this led to some discussions on whether it is an important subject or not. some believe that it does not have any use and should not be studied while others think it is an important source of knowledge. my opinion stands closer to the former statement. to begin with, it is said that history is one of the most over-rated subjects due to the fact that it is past and you can not do anything about it. in other words, some say that historical stories do not have any impact on how humans react today. for example, knowing what the king of Iran "Cyrus" did in the past does not have any impact on politicians today. to continue, history is only a simplified story of what happened, meaning that no matter how deep and profound the research is there is still a part of truth missing which can not be studied when you are not in that situation. for instance, for years archaeologists thought that the historical buildings in Shiraz were part of the forgotten architecture of ancient greeks who travelled to Iran which was later revealed that it was actually Iranian architects who adapted those techniques by travelling there. in contrast, some say archaeology is one of the most important majors of study because we can actually learn what are the footprints that we are making today for the future through the study of semiotics in historical urban places. to make it more tangible, before modernism new methods of architecture in Iran was only developed through studies of historical architecture. local people took what they learnt from their ancestors and developed it step by step. another approach is that history can help prevent past mistakes. for example, Iranians started building tall walls around the cities after they learnt that it had a good result protecting the city from offenders in the ancient kingdoms. to conclude, it is said that history does not have any use or impacts on humans today as they are incomplete and ineffective but it seems that modern humans can learn many things simply by knowing past techniques or even mistakes.