Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is prominent that the developed nations tend to lend a helping hand financially to the under-developed or the developing regions. However, it fails to curb the most challenging issue like poverty. To my opinion, while offering finance is helpful, aiming for improvising other issues can promote better progress. To embark on, one of the factors that contribute to financing the needed countries is that the government can decide where to spend the money, thereby allocating resources accordingly. For instance, India assisted its neighbouring country with a few lakh rupees to curb the disaster caused by the recent earthquake. As a result, this money was spent on refurbishment and restructuring of the architecture and buildings. In a way, it is better to make the ruler of the region decide the expenditure on various sectors. Nevertheless, expenditure of such an enormous amount often neglects to serve the poorer sections of the society. This is due to the fact that millions of dollars are spent on infrastructure and transportation. To quote an instance, current metro projects in cities like Mumbai have been given certain crores for the advancement in transportation. In addition to that, luxurious malls and stadiums eat up more than half of the taxation amount leaving a few pennies for the upliftment of slums. Therefore, direct aid such as imparting free education, provision of ration for food, clean drinking water can definitely add a bit to the development of such people. In conclusion, although donating a hefty amount to the needy countries is helpful in a way, I believe that it does not concentrate on the ongoing challenge like poverty but is heavily spent on other areas. This naturally implies that assistance in other ways than money can better cover the problems of individuals living below the poverty line.