n some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problem as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Obesity and several diseases are the results of bad nutrition. Therefore, some state that authorities have to increase taxation for businesses that run fast foodstuff. I strongly disagree with this statement. From my point of view, there are better solutions. Because people are becoming more and more addicted to such nourishment and they do not have the awareness of the negative effects of that, governments have to quickly take action. Firstly, education is a great mean to mitigate this problem. As a matter of fact, making the public be aware of the deep threat of eating junk food can reduce the number of people who suffers from consuming poor dishes. For example, malnutrition is widely spared among teenagers, inserting in academic program subjects where they will learn the consequences of bad cuisine in their body and also how to choose a good diet might lead them to have a control on what they eat. Secondly, they could stop delivering new licences, so it will not a growing up of those shops. On the other hand, healthy eating is extremely expensive and there is a public who cannot afford it, so raising a tax can lead them to a bad position of undernourishment. Furthermore, owners of such restaurants are running their activities with the purpose of looking after their own families, so adding another charge could push them out of business. In conclusion, although fast food is not good for health, putting a high tax on them is not a solution. Education and reducing the amount of them are good strategies to overcome this issue.