Some people think that governments of developing countries should introduce new technology to people to improve their quality of life, while others believe that they should provide free education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The social questions raised by which support should be given to the public by governments in developing countries, the introduction of new technology or free education, are subject to much debate. As far as the fairness and the financial burden on parents are concerned, I personally think that free education is the more important concern. First and foremost, free education can help to reduce the financial strain on parents in developing countries. Nowadays, the increasing prices of houses and daily necessities impose a burden on parents, especially the young parents who do not have some savings yet. If the education expenditures of their children could be undertaken by the government, parents will be more likely to spend money on what they are really interested in, rather than these fixed expenses. In addition, free education means that children from low-income families can have equal educational opportunities to achieve their potential. There are numerous teenagers in developing countries that have no choice but to give up their studies because of their poor families. However, one of these children may be a potential scientist or a respectful doctor. Free education is definitely beneficial for developing a free and fair society and helps everyone to achieve their potential. On the other hand, new technology is also going hand in hand with the public. For instance, new medical technology can improve people’s health and well-being and e-commerce technology can provide consumers in developing countries with more shopping choices. Simultaneously, new entertainment technology can be an important source of fun and enjoyment for people in developing countries. Diverse new technologies prompt people’s lives to be more colourful. In conclusion, individuals in developing countries could benefit from both free education and the introduction of new technology. However, I would argue that free education may have a more positive impact on the public in the long run, considering the inequality and the load on parents.