Some people think that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Advertisements have become an important part of our life and they influence us to buy things that are sometimes useful but most times unnecessary. Some say that they don't notice them as it's become so regular. In the paragraphs below I will explain both sides and state my opinion. First of all, it's safe to say that commercials rule our life every day. They drive our major decision-making process in buying commodities. They also teach us about different products and competitors available in the market and persuade us by converting our wants to needs. This is a major marketing gimmick that common people don't realise and that's how the big companies make money. Some advertisements also use emotional appeal thus making customers fall prey to their products. There are also a few brands that use big stars like Shah Rukh Khan or Amitabh Bachchan to endorse their brand thus giving fake credibility to the customers. On contrary, there are a few people who say that don't give any attention to the commercials that they see as it's become so common. Although this might be true to a certain extent where we tend to ignore a regular or known advertisement, it is unavoidable for us to not notice new ones especially in this technology era where ads are displayed based on what you speak. For example, Instagram or Google uses voice recognition without the user's knowledge and they suggest commercials based on your conversation. So in my opinion, I would 100% agree that advertisements are extremely persuasive and it is definitely not possible for us to ignore them completely as they subconsciously decide our purchase behaviour and that is how they mint money from the consumers.