The inequality between rich and poor nations is now wider than it has ever been before. What do you think are the main causes of this difference and what do you think can be done to reduce the gap ?

In the modern world, the gap between rich and poor countries has become greater than in the past. In this essay, I will elaborate on some roots of this issue and propose some solutions from my point of view. To begin with, there are several main causes of the widening gap between the wealthy and poverty-stricken nations. The first root may come from disasters such as pandemics or civil wars. For instance, in the case of pandemics, although both the rich and poor countries may be adversely affected, the former, which have better medical facilities and, therefore, better preventive measures and treatment, will sustain lesser damage to their people and economy compared to the latter. This will undoubtedly contribute to furthering the gap between them. Secondly, another cause can originate from an inadequacy of investment in education in poor nations. That is, the talented in such countries can usually be attracted by well-equipped infrastructure in the wealthier, which, in turn, deprives the poorer countries of the human resources necessary for their prosperity. On the other hand, there are several remedial approaches that may be implemented. First, international organizations, such as the United Nations, should urge wealthy countries to aid their poorer counterparts in terms of education and facilities in return for certain benefits that can later be discussed. With this aid, developing countries can upgrade their infrastructure and ameliorate various socioeconomic aspects in order to fight against epidemics and resolve their internal affairs. However, the government should adopt deliberate policies which attract and retain their genius and simultaneously open their economies to foreign investments. As a consequence, with collaboration between the two aforementioned factors, the poverty of Third-world nations can be thus alleviated, narrowing the gap between underdeveloped and affluent countries. In conclusion, disasters and a shortage of educational investment can be the main roots of the ever-widening gap between poor and rich nations. Nonetheless, by means of the aforementioned measures, such discrepancy existing in our world will hopefully someday be bridged.