Many people believe online learning has unlocked students’ hidden abilities. Others argue that it only holds true for a privileged few, especially in developing countries. Which opinion do you support? In about 300 words, present your arguments.

A number of people advocate online education for having enabled unforeseen capacities within us. Others, however, claim the contrary, stating that it only holds true for the advantaged few, particularly in Third -World Countries. From my perspective, I voice disapproval of the latter, believing that far from widening educational inequalities, e-learning benefits students from all walks of life in dissimilar ways. In the first place, its seeming drawbacks notwithstanding, it is distance learning that most pupils could take a lot out of, irrespective of their backgrounds. In other words, whether they are affluent or not, online education would always bring out different values in them, thus serving to unlock their hidden abilities. For instance, while privileged undergraduates could gain adaptability skills to changing environments, the less privileged ones, through undergoing more difficulties, would be able to acquire extra problem-solving and creativity skills. What is more, contrary to popular belief, not only does e-learning not deny less well-off students, but it also attempts to reach out to more. That is, plenty of efforts have gone into making distance learning more effective as well as more affordable to students in far-flung areas, either by equipping them with technological gadgets or granting them subsidies. For example, pupils not being able to travel to school in another state or country are encouraged to study in their homeland, which poses fewer financial problems, while enabling them to master their self-study skills. Hence, they are still aided to reach their full potential, in addition to having more hidden talents revealed. All things considered, although the more wealthy pupils appear to meet with fewer obstacles, it is indeed the less advantaged ones that acquire more abilities amid the online-learning situation. Therefore, I am supportive of the former statement, claiming that distance education is not exclusive to those who could afford its technology.