Many High Street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this modern era, people have shifted to online shopping from window shopping and this is the main reason why many street markets have lost their customers. With the developing technologies, it has become easier to buy things while sitting at home. I believe this is a positive development due to various benefits available online such as a variety of options, easy return policies and discount offers. To begin with, the online business of buying and selling items has not only benefitted a customer but also a seller. For instance, websites like Amazon, Flipkart are widely used for purchasing items as well as for selling by various local businesses. Additionally, it has given the opportunity to various women to start their business of perhaps selling handmade items online with a very low investment. However, I do not believe that local shops have gone out of business since they have also partnered with various websites or have launched their own mobile applications for trading. Nowadays people have hectic schedules where it becomes difficult for them to go out and spend time picking up their favourite items when they have the privilege of purchasing anything from around the world while sitting in their comfort zone. For example, whenever they get time maybe at midnight they can open the internet, search for their products, check reviews and compare different brands. Hence, this can be considered as a positive development. To conclude, with the aforementioned statements it is quite evident that the trend of online trading has way more benefits than the traditional market. Also, local shops can join this trend by giving users an option to buy stuff on the internet in order to save time.