Over time, as children grow older, the relationship they have with their parents changes. In your opinion, what role should parents have in their adult children’s lives?

As children grow older, they try to maintain distance from their parents and it can vary from child to child. There are many phases where a parent-child relationship changes and adulting is one of them. I believe that parents should allow their children to make their own decisions when they grow older. Furthermore, this essay will provide examples and a conclusion to support my view. If we talk about childhood, kids are very much connected with their parents and we all have seen small kids who never leave their parents for a second. As time goes on, when they turn into a teenager, they try to maintain distance from their parents as kids are going through hormonal changes during that time. Finally, when children grow as adults, they again come closer to their parents and try to connect with their parents in a limited way. For example, children will stay away from their parents when they are in grade 10 or 11 and as soon as they turn 24, they again will try to connect with their parents because by that time they have learned many things. However, parents should have limited involvement in their children's private life as they grow older. Parents should also change their roles from time to time. For example, when children were small the parents used to teach everything to their kids but when they grow older, they should understand their children's boundaries where they should allow them to make their own decisions and guide them whenever required. In conclusion, I believe that the role of the parents changes when their children grow older and to save their relationship, parents should allow their children to make their own decisions and guide them whenever it is necessary.