Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, it is true that foreign languages have gained in popularity due to their significance in all corners of life, especially the global connection. Highly aware of this, a large number of families invest in their children's education, mainly for language skills, at an early age since primary schools instead of secondary schools. In my opinion, the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, learning a foreign language from a young age offers people several benefits, mostly simplifying the process of comprehending knowledge and relieving the burden of this at the higher education level. In fact, it is evident that language acquisition is performed effectively by children, meaning that the learning approach will appear more active, natural and even fast at this stage. As a result, the speaking and listening skills are spontaneously improved, which then benefits children’s communication ability, and builds up confidence in themselves. Once the potential to use a foreign language is fully developed, the process of advancing it at a higher level will be much more plausible, compared to the struggle that secondary and high school students have to face when absorbing complicated grammar and structures. On the other hand, the aforementioned advantages are at the expense of greater drawbacks. The most challenging problem with children who learn a foreign language early lies in a lack of self-discipline, meaning that considerable observation, monitoring, and support will be required from teachers and parents in a long time. Apart from this, finance is another issue that may concern some parents since the tuition fee for such language courses is frequently considered as overpriced. However, thanks to the advancement of science and technology, nowadays there has been a myriad of applications and devices that assist this learning process, easing the pressure for adults. In conclusion, while learning a foreign language since primary school may have some negative aspects, I believe they are outweighed by the more significant positive ones. Especially in the modern world of interconnection, a foreign language or an international language is an indispensable element for everyone who desires to evolve themselves.