Some people believe that schools are no longer necessary because students can study well at home through the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that students can study efficiently and effectively through distance education at home, so that there is no need for schools. I tend to disagree with this statement, although there are advantages of taking online courses. Undoubtedly, online study is beneficial to schoolers. Taking classes on the Internet allows students to study anytime and anywhere at their own pace. This means that students are able to stop videos of online courses when they come across study problems, and refer to their textbooks or turn to others for help, such as, parents and peers before continuing the videos. In addition, for those who want to review distance education is helpful. This is because online lessons can be replayed and rewatched for many times. However, I argue that the significance of schools should be valued. First of all, school is where students socialise with others. When taking lessons in a classroom with other members of the class, students have chances to have real-time discussions and corporate with their peers by working in a team, through which interpersonal skills of schoolers will be developed and improved. Furthermore, teacher supervision will boost productivity of students. It is undeniable that there are a great number of information and distractions on the Internet that will steal students ’ attention when they study at home without supervision; however, if students attend face-to-face classes at schools, they will study and work under supervision from teachers, which will guarantee students pay full attention in lessons. In conclusion, though distance education brings positives to students, schools play a key role in developing students ’ social skills and ensuring their productivity. My view is that it is better for schoolers to make best use of online learning, and at the same time, value the importance of schools.