Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at school and at home. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Watching TV, especially informative television programmes, has been recognised as an effective method of learning because audio-visual information can attract students’ attention and engage their interests.While many television programmes have educational value, I do not agree that increasing screen time is a good idea. Television viewing can interfere with children ’s studies and other activities that can benefit these children ’s development. Children can get distracted easily, especially when they watch TV without adults' supervision.They may not be able to concentrate on learning tasks, a problem that can lead to poor grades. It is also difficult for them to participate in those interactive activities that promote brain development, such as reading, singing and communication. Another problem is that excessive screen time can affect children ’s health. They sit in front of a screen for many hours every day, instead of playing games and doing sports with peers. They also suffer obesity, poor eyesight and fatigue. Because of this, they do not have enough energy to cope with the demands of schooling and lose self-confidence over time. On the other hand, I understand that television has exposed children to a world of knowledge.There are many educational programmes aimed at children, allowing them to gain an insight into different subjects. For example, documentaries can help children learn about historical events while foreign language channels can help them acquire foreign languages. This kind of knowledge can complement what they learn at school. To sum up, I would argue that parents and teachers should impose restrictions on children ’s television viewing, rather than endorse this habit.Watching TV can have an adverse impact on children ’s grades, rather than improve their academic performance.