When new towns are planned,it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centres. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

While planning new towns, some people argue to construct a number of parks and gyms to promote health rather than shopping malls. I, for one, believe that both sports facilities and shopping paradises are important for establishing a well-developed town. This disquisition will delve deeper into reasons supporting my perspective in the following paragraphs. The belief that public parks and sports facilities should be introduced in a town can be attributed to the fact that nowadays most people follow a sedentary and hectic lifestyle. Due to this, they completely ignore their health. If there will be playgrounds and sports clubs nearby their places, it is more likely that they will spend their time in such activities which keep their body fit and fine. For example, in western countries like U.S.A and Canada, the government spend huge money on public gardens and provide different exercise equipment to encourage them to do a workout which actually results in better health for the residents of the area. Therefore, it is necessary to take parks and sports clubs into priority while considering a new town. Although it cannot deny that public recreational grounds and games clubs has proved beneficial for the local people, the importance of constructing shopping malls cannot be ignored. Firstly, shopping centres provide easy access to the public for buying any kind of stuff under one roof as they accommodate hundreds of stores of different brands and items in themselves. Secondly, shopping plazas help to generate employment in a town. They provide a number of job opportunities to the people and help them in earning their livelihood. For example, according to a recent study by Timeline magazine, shopping malls and big showrooms provide 5% of the total employment even to illiterate people in Bengal by offering them jobs in the service sector such as helper, driver, security guard and so on. Besides, shopping paradises also act as a symbol of royalty. The more the number of lavish shopping malls, the more the city is considered developed. To conclude, both sports facilities and shopping malls play an indispensable role in establishing a town as parks and games help to attain health, whereas shopping centres provide easy access and generate employment for people.