Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that women are solely responsible for the decision of having children which bring forth the idea that they are only in charge of bringing up the children. I partially agree with this statement because I feel that this is a life-changing resolution that can only be made in agreement with your significant other. In the course of this essay, we shall take an in-depth look into this. First and foremost, raising a child requires both financial and emotional support. This is something that can be provided by both parents but if we follow the gender centric roles, the economic assistance is provided by the male. During the period of a woman's,pregnancy the man assumes the role of the breadwinner and the one who is to oversee the overall expenses in relation to the childbirth and after. On the other hand, it may be argued that since a mother carries a child in their womb for a period of 9 months, there is a deeper connection between them. Although this is true, I honestly do not feel that this can justify their sole responsibility in the rearing of a child. In today's society, there is no hard and fast rule on who stays home to bring up the young ones. It is mainly based on a families situation. Furthermore, a child's rearing will only benefit if they have the love and support of both parents. In conclusion, I believe that the decision for having a child is one that cannot be taken lightly and which is one that cannot be handled alone. The term bringing them up when broadly looked at can mean the kid's financial and emotional state as well.