Increasing price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution. What other measures should be adopted. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The environment is degraded day by day. The major reason behind this is congestion and pollution. A spectrum of society holds the opinion that a rise in the price of fuel is a suitable way to tackle environmental problems. I, for one, stand by the given viewpoint that a hike in the price of petrol helps to mitigate the congestion and pollution -related problems. This disquisition will delve deeper into the reasons supporting my perspective in the following paragraphs. The belief that hiking in the cost of fuel benefits the environment by reducing the amount of congestion and pollution on roads can be attributed to the fact that nowadays most people use their private vehicles for their daily commute. Due to this, the number of cars on roads is increasing day-by-day which results in the deterioration of the environment by producing an immense amount of pollution and traffic. If the rate of petrol and diesel will increase, it is more likely that people give preference to public transport instead of their personal motor vehicles to save money. For example, according to a recent study by Timeline magazine, the government of India increase the price of petrol by 5% at the end of 2020 which actually results in 10% more use of public transports by commuters for going to their work. Therefore, it is necessary to hike the price of fuel to put pressure on the public and encourage them to use public vehicles to save the environment. Although the intense rise in the price of fuel has proved beneficial for mitigating pollution and congestion in cities, it is also important to consider some other alternatives. Firstly, Carpooling should be encouraged among people. The passengers from nearby places should share their transport with each other on a similar route. For example, Japan is the country where it is a compulsion to carpool with family members or neighbours for going out in a car which helps in reducing traffic on roads. Secondly, public transport should be made more accessible, comfortable and reliable so that more people come forward to use them. Besides, the use of bicycles must be promoted for travelling a short distance. To conclude, although the rise in the cost of fuel will definitely help to reduce traffic problems, public transport,carpooling and conventional vehicles also need to develop and promote for tackling the problem of congestion and pollution from their roots.