The prevention of health problems and health illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree.

The majority of the health fund in most countries is channelled into hospitals and healthcare centres however, very little is available to promote exercise that prevents the rise in health illnesses. I believe prevention is better than cure is very popular and I agree the government needs to play a key role to lessen the number of sickness cases while improving the general well-being of the population. Firstly, grants need to be provided to ensure research is done to eradicate certain illnesses. If there are fewer people falling sick then less money will be needed to support hospitals and overcrowding in healthcare centres will drop. As proof, American scientists have been able to successfully get rid of malaria in their country and this was possible with help from the federal administration. Secondly, the annual budget for any nation should allocate more money to achieve overall public wellness. This can be done by ensuring the masses especially the old, participate in monthly wellness movements including running, football, hiking, e.t.c. Such action could potentially decrease the incidence of heart diseases like stroke and myocardial infarctions. For instance, in Switzerland, the government provides bicycles to almost every citizen, thereby increasing physical activity. As a result, statistics show an overall decline in cardiac conditions reported and reduced overcrowding in healthcare centres. Lastly, wellness talks and fitness awareness programs need to be put in place. If more posters, advertisements and weekly talk shows are set up, slowly people will begin to understand the importance of self-care and will take measures to aid their wellbeing. For instance, a recent show was held in Ibadan informing its participants of the negative effects of cigarettes; cancer and lung collapse. After a few weeks, over 50% of the attendees reported having quit smoking. In conclusion, although the government should ensure that medicine and treatment are readily available for people, more attention needs to be drawn to reduce the rise in medical cases by providing adequate information and sporting activities and this will ultimately reduce the burden on hospitals to cure for the sick.