Consumers are facing increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

We see hundreds of commercials in our daily lives, on transportation, on the roads, on computers, in the newspapers and even on mobile phones. This essay will discuss how much these adverts influence us and what we can do about it. Commercials persuade people to spend, even if it is not necessary. Advertising has become more impactful and competitive among the companies that sell the same type of product. They promote the unique features and possibly better aspects of their products compared to their competitors' on their ads. They make consumers feel that they would fall behind in society if they do not buy these products. Phone makers produce a new model of the mobile phone every year and their advertisements highlight new or upgraded features that other phones in the market usually do not offer. As a result, people would buy new model phones, even if their existing phones remain highly functional. This is an example of how much advertisements influence people. Although it is impossible to stop people from impulse buying, we can possibly have policies that protect consumers in some ways. Some countries have Consumer Protection Act that helps consumers if they get scammed or protects them if they dispute with the sellers. I recently bought a smartwatch from an online merchant but found out that it was an imitation, even though it was priced the same as the authentic item. I immediately informed the seller but he declined to admit that he was selling the imitations and also to refund. I reported this matter to the local authorities and I was able to get a full refund, thanks to the Consumer Protection Act. In summary, advertisements that are competitively attractive often trigger us to buy things. As our impulse purchases could get us into trouble, it would be great if there are some measures to protect us against them.