Some peole believe that allowing children to make their own choices on every matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own whishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Disscuss both of these viewpoints.

According to some people, children should be allowed to decide what they eat, wear or watch. However, others believe that if the children have the freedom to make their own choices, they will grow up into selfish behaviour. In this,essay both viewpoints will be discussed in detail before a conclusion is reached. There are people who argue that the benefit of giving children choices help them have some power and control over what they do which is a step in growing up. It is possible to say that making a choice is a skill that children will use for the rest of their lives. Moreover, decision-making is an important aspect of building confidence. When children make a decision and go well, they are going to feel proud and this is going to help to build confidence and continue to build positive decision-making skills through adulthood. A good way to start giving children choices is that parents should select two or three things and let the children choose from them. On the other hand, others believe that not all decisions that children make will have a positive outcome. To be more precise, children become selfish behaviour if they are used to getting what they want. For instance, a child may insist that he should be able to watch cartoons whenever he wants to. He may not consider what other family members want to watch on TV. If his parents allow him to have his way, he will pay more attention to himself when he grows up. This is why parents need to set a proper limit for their children and stick to them. In conclusion, it seems to me that both arguments have their merits. However, I feel that parents should guide their children to respect the feeling of others before making a decision.