In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Evidence suggests that a growing number of countries experience growth in the length of life. While there are many benefits to this phenomenon, there are some drawbacks to consider. In this essay, both sides will be discussed in detail followed by my own take on the matter. On the plus side, the advantages of life expectancy are manifold. To begin with, living longer enable the elderly to participate in the labour market and perform social roles such as caring for grandchildren. Simply put, society can use senior citizens experience and their talent. For instance, when a company get in trouble, they can get advice from retired managers or employees because they have more expended knowledge to aid the company to tackle obstacles. In addition, as they live longer, they can spend time doing what they really want like travelling, researching and etc. to discover and understand the true value of life. However, the downside cannot be ignored. Providing a lot of facilities for old people is demanding. In fact, governments should offer accommodations, recreational facilities and pensions, as a result, the state is more likely to face a shortage of land and resources so that this can bring conflict among people. Moreover, the longer people live the more pain they have to suffer and need to be hospitalized in order to get better treatment. This increases public health care expenditures. As a consequence, governments should allocate more budget on this issue. In conclusion, increasing life expectancy can be both rewarding and problematic. while they might contribute to boosting the community and gaining more opportunities to experience and learn more things, the elderly are now viewed as a burden on society because they need several facilities and their medical expenses are extremely high so I believe it would be a negative trend.