Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that doing experimentation on animals is a prevalent way to help research on medicines and other areas. While I understand that tests may have some moral mistakes of hurting animals, I believe that some of them have significant meanings to human beings which we should remain. On the one hand, some biology experiments are applied by unethical methods and tools, which should be abandoned in the future. These approaches usually wound or even kill animals to achieve the target, causing damage to the habitats. For example, tests on biological weapons often need not only a lot of animals, but also a specific environment like a forest or river, and this is unethically wrong. Such experiments show little respect to the lives and environment, making the research outcomes become less trustworthy. Besides, alternative methods can be taken to replace some experimentations, and they generally cause less hurt to animals. On the other hand, there are some researches that have huge benefits for humanity so we have to keep them. Firstly, these experiments often have consequential meanings for both research and animals. Secondly, some innovative drugs can’t be tested on human beings directly, so they have to be validated with help of animals. Finally, many experiments would not wound the animals while showing peace and respect to the environment. For instance, the study of sleep and dreaming would not hurt the lab rats themselves, only to find out the logic of how they fall asleep and wake up, thus the animals suffer little pain from the test. In conclusion, while I think that some biology tests should be banned due to their unethical methods, I trust that experiments with huge benefits for human beings can remain.