In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People living in rural areas tend to move out of their hometowns and decide to live in urban areas, which is happening worldwide, causing a decrease in the population of the countryside. I personally think that this has both benefits and drawbacks in about equal measure. One of the benefits of this trend is that accepting more folks into populated places can bring further economic growth to the sites as a whole. For instance, nowadays, in Japan, more and more foreign visitors travel to Japan, especially to major places such as Tokyo and Osaka, and a large number of industries, including hotels and tourism, desperately need more workers to deal with a dearth of employees. Under such conditions, it is key for big cities to welcome more residents from rural regions to maintain the economy. On the other hand, with a fall in the number of the rural population, there will be a problem which can be harmful, particularly to old people. If the majority of citizens decide to move out of their regions, there will be nobody who can take care of the elderly, which might become a heavier burden for caregivers, as the number of elderly people who need to be taken care of could rise. In addition, more hospitals in the countryside might have to deal with numerous elderly citizens who used to be looked after by their families. Some statistics show that there was a 40% increase in the number of elderly folks who needed to be taken care of by caregivers after the Tokyo Olympics started to recruit more staff and younger residents moved out of their areas. In conclusion, I believe that this development will be both beneficial for urban areas in terms of workforce and detrimental for the elderly and caregivers to the same extent.