Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit students at the school. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued by some educationalists that exchange visits will benefit students, whilst others disagree with this premise. While this does offer a few advantages we cannot ignore the drawbacks that it raises. While this helps students get a better understanding of life in other countries, it also creates a sense of loneliness and homesickness amongst them. There are a couple of main benefits arising out of such programs. Some of which is the ability to meet new people and be introduced to a new language. Furthermore, sophomores will be subject to educational diversity which is important, as it shows them where they are in the grand scheme of things. Alternately, travelling alone to another country, all be it with fellow students for a long duration, can result in loneliness for some students, which would thereby manifest itself by dropping grades. Studying in an international location can bring up unwanted expenses which not all families can afford. Lastly, many students may not like the sudden change in culture and language and may find it hard to adapt to a new place. Furthermore, teenagers are at an age where they want to try and experience anything and everything new, which is a good thing. However, in doing so, it can sometimes have devastating consequences, so they need to be constantly monitored, which is difficult for parents to do if their children are on an international exchange visit. In conclusion, I feel the advantages of an international exchange visit outweigh the disadvantages, because if we can get teenagers to think from a global perspective, then they will tend to show more responsibility and maturity when dealing with situations.