Some experts believe that children should begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, being an expert and a fluent speaker in a foreign dialect has become widely appreciated worldwide, especially with new technologies and various ways to learn. The age at which people should begin learning a foreign tongue has always been a controversial topic. Although everything has its advantages and disadvantages, there are significant benefits that outweigh the drawbacks of learning an adopted tongue at primary school. Since teaching children at school is one of the most fundamental ways to have a civilized society, this trend has to be analysed.  It is argued that the negativities of starting to learn a foreign language early on lie in the lack of ability to be an expert in the native language. For instance, for pupils who are originally Spanish having enough time to study various topics in the Spanish language will enable them to express more their emotions and ideas in their native language. Whereas, if the English subject was inserted in their curriculum early on they would not have time for their original language to be developed. Introducing a new foreign language at an early age is becoming more crucial in this decade because there is a high demand to learn a foreign language. For instance, a foreign language is required in different countries to be able to work there. Starting learning a foreign language early on would enable the child to be exposed to various vocabularies which will result in the child expressing himself better. It is claimed that the brain of most children works as a sponge absorbing everything more easily when they are younger. Also, learning a foreign language can widen the gaze to different aspects of life. Firstly, it will offer opportunities in terms of residency, studying abroad and getting a new job. Secondly, new hobbies could be discovered while learning a new language. As there are economic and social factors involved, every country has its own set of different skills. Hence, countries that are known for excelling at the Olympics are known for different kinds of sports that will be proposed to a child when he learns the phrases and daily talk of a foreign language. This will result in sparking a new interest in physical activity.  In conclusion, nonetheless, there is a slim possibility or an implication of children not learning enough of their native language due to learning a new language. There are wide-range variations of the advantages that are thought to enhance the individual in so many aspects of life. It is recommended to consider them thoroughly to have a better future for our children.