Some people think that the best way to resolve environmental problems is to increase fuel and vehicles’ prices. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Some environmental activists argue that the rise in automobiles and fuel prices is an essential strategy to solve global issues centred the global warming, while many conservative politicians oppose this statement. It may be true that high oil prices would temporarily constrain CO2 emission from mobilities, however, in my opinion, this is not a sustainable solution but a First, heightening oil prices will not change our lifestyle in a long term and there are more effective measures that should be prioritized. We highly depend on fissile fuels which emit greenhouse gases in our daily lives. For instance, more than 75% of total energy demand is produced by thermal power stations, which use fissile fuels. For taking further steps on global issues our consuming lifestyle must be transformed to that of humble in several ways instead of oil price control. For instance, public places such as libraries and schools can cultivate locals' consciousness of environmental issues. In addition, the government and financiers can encourage investment in eco-friendly technologies including renewable energy sources. That effect lasts for decades and truly facilitate us to tackle these overwhelming concerns. Next, the sudden rise in fuel cost will cause an economic downturn leading to mass dismissal. When the oil price is high, people tend to save money and refrain from purchasing or travelling, that is tourism, manufacturing and restaurant business will earn less amount of profit and investment. As a result of poor sales performance, many companies will have no choice but to lay off a considerate number of employees. In fact, the previous rising in oil prices caused a huge economic turmoil called the Oil Shock in the late 20th, which increased the unemployment rate to the top level. To sum up, high oil prices do more harm than good. There are many tactics to deal with global warming and what is worse, the sudden rise in oil price may arise economic decline and massive layoffs.