An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Nowadays, online shopping has become more popular among people. Although this tendency is far beneficial, it also has some drawbacks. On the one hand, there are many advantages for people who purchase their requirements online. Firstly, it is more convenient for individuals to buy what they need in a short time through the internet, contributing to saving time without spending much time searching through different stores. Secondly, shopping online can aid people to keep healthy during the pandemic period because they can be threatened when they go to crowded places such as shopping centres. For instance, recently many people have tended to purchase online because of the coronavirus pandemic. Finally, online shopping provides a variety of choices for buyers to select their favourite goods from broader suggestions on the internet. On the other hand, shopping online also has some demerits. One evident disadvantage to buying online is that it is less reliable than in-person shopping because some shoppers present fake pictures of their products with high quality on the sites to attract customers to buy them. As a result, when consumers receive their goods, they would be dissatisfied with their poor quality. Besides, online buyers cannot be sure about their selections due to the lack of chance to test their purchases. For instance, in the case of buying a smartphone online, people might be received a faulty good because they cannot check it. Furthermore, going to different stores for shopping provides an opportunity for people to communicate with many persons, therefore it would bring buyers great happiness which online shopping cannot make. In conclusion, while most people tend to purchase their necessities online, and it has many advantages, it also has many disadvantages in comparison with offline shopping.