More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, people opt for a personal mode of transportation rather than using public transport services and there are multiple reasons associated with this change like the public transport system is not much reliable and flexible. On the one hand, it has made people's life easier and comfortable but on the other hand, it has caused numerous adverse effects on the environment and society. The major problem due to the over usage of personal cars is the traffic on roads. Today everybody has their own cars and they prefer using them instead of waiting for buses or trains to commute and as a result, traffic has increased on the roads. It has caused noise pollution, air pollution, accidents and many more such issues. For instance, on a daily basis, we come across a number of news articles mentioning road accidents. Moreover, we cannot deny the fact that air is getting polluted due to the harmful emissions from vehicles. Certainly, there are a few measures that can be taken to mitigate the previously mentioned harmful effects but the main solution to this problem is improving the public transportation services like buses, trains so that people feel comfortable. It can be done by making their schedule flexible and according to the needs of the residents; by keeping them clean and sanitized. Additionally, governments can make rules on the usage of personal vehicles. For example, in Delhi, a rule was made where cars with odd numbers and even numbers could be used on alternative days, thus it helped in limiting the traffic. To sum up, if public transportation can be improved, it will surely help in mitigating the adverse effects that are caused by the excessive usage of personal vehicles. We can also make people aware and motivate them to use alternative options to commute.