Nowadays some countries cncourage people to buy morc and more products,which is good for economy. While others believe it is bad for the society. Discussboth views and give your opinion.

People have a mixed response about whether consumers should be encouraged to consume more as some argue that it is beneficial for the economy while others avert that it has adverse impacts on society. From my point of view., I do believe that moderate consumption is supposed to be advocated while preventing excessive consumption. On the one hand, there are multiple merits in terms of consumption. From the perspective of individuals, consumption demands push them to work harder in order to earn more money to support the increasing requirement for various products. Besides, with the daily expanding demands for commodities, more job opportunities can be provided, by which poverty will be expected to be reduced, leading to a fairer society. With regard to governments and even the entire nation, governments could collect more tax and thus funding for public services. For instance, investing more resources and money to the infrastructure, health care, education, and national security, which are relevant and significant to a nation’s development. Overall, consumption can boost productivity and facilitate economic progress in a dramatically effective way. On the other hand, governments and relative departments need to guarantee that the phenomenon of excessive consumption is inexistent. There are notable drawbacks with respect to the overemphasis on consumption. Predominantly, excessive consumption puts a heavier financial burden on families. For example, people tend to highly rely on money and shopping to gain happiness because of the inflating material needs, and furthermore, overdraft consumption undermines people ability to consume in the future. Those people are more likely to be unable to save enough deposits to cope with emergencies such as suffering from a disease and even harder to afford basic daily expenses. In conclusion, I firmly believe that overemphasis on consumption is counterproductive and detrimental to social harmony and economic development while moderate and proper consumption is more conductive.