It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary epoch, it is often argued that the maintenance of old buildings is costly and worthless that the amount of money spent should be invested in modern facilities and amenities. From my perspective, while being positive with the given idea, I also believe that the situation should be dependent on what kind of buildings are being discussed. On the one hand, the expenses of repairing, decorating, or reconstructing old historical buildings cost an arm and a leg. To begin with, the administration of such buildings is required to pay a large amount of money to maintain the quality as these buildings are frail so they could be destroyed or damaged at any time. Take the houses in the Old Quarter in Ha Noi as an example, they have been built for over a hundred years now, and the city council has to pay over one hundred million Dong per year to keep the houses intact. However, even when these buildings remain still, no one would notice it. This, in turn, may slow down the economic development of the country since money is being used for unpractical purposes. If that fund is used for constructing new hospitals or stations, the city would eventually become more modern and every citizen could be benefited. On the other hand, some historical buildings should still be looked after and repaired as they have some important roles. To be more specific, one old building could represent a city or become the symbol of a country. Take the Eiffel Tower, the symbol of Paris, as an illustration, if the tower is no longer be taken care of, it will soon be knocked down. This, in turn, may make France lose their unique sign and the city could become less attractive, leading to the fact that there would be fewer visits to the city. In conclusion, I totally for the idea that investing in historical buildings could be a waste of money and the given fund should be spent on modern amenities. Caution, nevertheless, should be seriously taken into account as this kind of investment could be worthwhile in special cases.