Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In today’s advanced world, there is a growing trend of entrepreneurship, where individuals prefer to build their business rather than working nine to five. This is mainly driven by the flexible working hours and tasks, however, there is a risk of uncertainty as a drawback. I will elaborate on the reasons and some downsides of the practice in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, entrepreneurs tend to not have exact hours of work. They might start their day earlier or even later than the usual employees, which some people view as a life goal. For example, entrepreneurs can start working at 1 in the afternoon and only have two meetings in a day, hence they can stop working at 5 PM. Secondly, the tasks are more varied, for instance, entrepreneurs can talk to their customers in a day and have a chat with investors on another day. Moreover, they might focus on business operations and marketing at the same time. Nevertheless, there are some unavoidable downsides to being an entrepreneur such as facing financial uncertainty and threat the mental health. Since the success of a business is fully dependant on the efforts being put, there is not any guarantee that a businessman will earn the same salary each month. Additionally, financial pressure tends to come along, hence most likely to affect mental health. To illustrate, entrepreneurs who use their own funds to establish a business would need to work harder in order to grow their venture so that can gain profit faster. In a way of conclusion, despite the flexibility of working hours and tasks offered by being an entrepreneur, it might bring a negative impact on financial uncertainty and mental health. I believe that whatever jobs people pursue, they must face some disadvantages, hence each individual must plan better to avoid the worse downsides.