There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages on the increase in student numbers at university?

Attending school is a major goal in almost every family around the world. As a result, since a few decades ago the number of students going to universities has grown exponentially. The benefits of attending at this level of education are for both, the individual and the society. However, some may believe that this increasing trend is affecting academic quality. The present essay will present some advantages and disadvantages of the high sum of scholars attending tertiary schools. On the one hand, the advantages of more and more people receiving higher training are related to the quality of life of each person and the society in the future. After school, there is higher access to more opportunities in the work field. Since a high total of experts is waiting to be accepted into a job, those with a higher diploma will receive an answer sooner. Also, the graduates increasing trend results in more doctors, dentists, nutritionists and technology experts. Developing improvements and solving social problems is another benefit, for instance, doctors are improving the medicines to treat diabetes, one of the most common illnesses in the world. Another example is the technology experts developing websites to make possible the online lessons. Those skilful adults receive more payment than other less prepared workers. In addition, the university prepares people to continue their studies such as a master's degree or a PhD. On the other hand, the main disadvantage is that the majority of universities were not prepared to receive too many individuals every year. They need time to adjust to the new generations and to cover all the student's necessities related to the quality, otherwise they would become just a workers factory. Solving the doubts during a lesson is crucial to obtaining good academic results. Then, in some cases taking lessons in a full classroom could make it difficult for the professor to attend and solve all the questions. The absence of space in schools is solved by offering more online courses. These courses are designed to reach more individuals and to lead the learning responsibility to them. Also, it is a problem for the practical subjects, for example, chemistry and biology, the reason is that the students would not have the opportunity to learn it in the proper way. The unsolved doubts and the online lessons could result in a bad education level and in a bad performance as a professional in the future. Moreover, there are too many students studying in the same area. It increases the work field competition and diminishes the opportunity to find a job. To conclude, although the academic providers needed time to adjust and overcome the necessity of more professors and more space in their classrooms, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Having more professionals to solve health problems, technological problems and to improve the lifestyle is crucial for the individual and the society.