Some think that young people should be free to choose any career they like, while others say that they should think more realistically about their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Choosing a future career requires careful consideration. Some people claim that the students should be able to pursue their dream and choose the job they enjoy. Others argue that adolescents should aim for a high-paying job, such as being a doctor or an engineer to ensure their future livelihood when they grow up. In my opinion, young people should use their talent and potential to get a job that not only matches their interests but also brings profits. The youth who choose a high-skilled job may find it easier to have a high salary and a fruitful future. It is true in some professions, such as lawyers, doctors or civil servants, which are well-paid and offer more stability compared with other careers. For example, many university students prepare for the civil examinations before graduation, because they think that the government wouldn’t lay off its workers and that the starting salary is higher than most jobs. On the other hand, young people should have the freedom to choose the career they like. This is because we are in a rapidly changing world, some jobs that used to be considered unprofitable have become lucrative nowadays. Therefore, no one can precisely foresee what careers will be profitable in the future. For example, It’s easy to find millions of Youtube videos or listen to podcasts on our digital devices, but this kind of emerging industry did not exist in the past. In other words, some current well-paid jobs might not exist in the future, either. Therefore, more and more young people choose to pursue dreams and follow career paths according to enthusiasm and interests. To summarize, I would encourage them to pursue what they really love instead of simply getting high salaries. I’m certain that it would be a pity if the youth limit their careers to well-paying jobs of today. Unforeseen changes might affect salaries, however, our pleasure from doing what we love won’t change.