Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. TO what extended do you agree or disagree?

Television is the one knowledge resource. Some people think it is good to promote watching television for children to gather knowledge. I strongly disagree with this statement because this is not better than proper time management for watching TV sets of children and the following examples will be provided to support my point of view. To begin with, the most significant reason is that too much watching television can be a cause of health problems,especially for their children's sight. For example, according to the latest survey conducted by Bangkok University, it has been revealed that 80% of offspring who have been watching television more than 8 hours per day have a short sight problem. Moreover, this can lead to other health problems such as headaches because of using too many eyes on the television. Secondly, children who have spent time on television tend to have isolated personalities and lack social skills. Furthermore, I strongly believe that there are many ways to learn effectively for children such as learning at school, books or experiencing real situations. Thus, various learning methods would bring more positive outcomes for kids than learning by only watching TV sets. To extend this, it is obvious that offspring should be taught by getting their own experiences because on television would be different to the real situations, they can apply the solving technique to overcome obstacles on their own. This is clearly seen when the television is not real, so learning from many resources would have more benefits. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with this statement because children should not be encouraged to watch television too much either at home or school. However, they should be taught to spend proper time on television indeed.