In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

In a significant number of nations, nowadays, in public places smoking is prohibited. It is widely believed that this sort of ban is justified. I agree with this point of view because it ensures the well-being of non-smokers, and prevents people from developing the habit of smoking. If smoking is banned in public areas, it confirms the safety of non-smokers. When smokers smoke in public places, it negatively impacts the health of non-smokers by secondary smoking. Passive smoking is as injurious as active smoking, which severely affects the health of non-smoking individuals. As a result, those who are non-smokers are also equally affected by smoking. For instance, in the UK, smoking in railway stations and bus stops is completely prohibited, and there are separate areas are provided for smoking. This secures non-smokers from passive smoking. In addition, banning smoking in public areas refrains people from sustaining the habit of smoking. If smokers are allowed to smoke in public places, it will attract non-smokers to develop the habit of smoking. For example, in Bangladesh, many young smokers have told that they have developed the detrimental habit of smoking by just following others smoking in public areas. When their friends used to smoke in public, it encouraged them to taste cigarettes, and eventually they became addicted to it and continued this harmful habit of smoking. In conclusion, I support the view of prohibiting smoking in public places. Banning smoking in public places secures the well-being of non-smoking individuals, and stops people from starting smoking.