• Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

So vital is the literacy that is said to play a significant role in various aspects of life. However, in the contemporary world, illiteracy is becoming a controversial issue. There seem to be two leading causes and several effects on both individuals and the community. Probably the main origin is the overwhelming costs of education that people on low-income could not afford. They prefer to train their children in a practical way in which they have an opportunity to become blue-collar. For instance, numerous families just make ends meet in less-affluent and developing countries due to ailing economies and inflation. That is why educational abandonment is considerably witnessed. A second well-known stem is the lack of family supervision that makes youngsters play truancy or do poorly at school. This means that having various facilities and the internet makes students distracted from their studies, and not being monitored by their parents exacerbates the situation. Consequently, pupils lacking family attention might prefer to play video games or use applications to do their homework, which are common in the modern world. As a result, they might fall behind with their studies and give up on exams. Turning to possible effects, an obvious result would be having low-paying and dead-end jobs for individuals. This means that being recruited in a company and having a decent job requires at least a bachelor’s degree. So, not having one puts illiterate citizens in difficulties and trouble. In addition, as the illiterate population increase, the competent workforce will be dwindled gradually. Finally, providing uncultured people were layoff and made bare minimum, they would end up burgling, mugging, or robbing, which put the community’s security at risk. To conclude, being underprivileged and inadequate monitoring are the causes, and they affect both individuals and nations by decreasing the number of skilled employees and citizens' safety.