Nowadays, many governments budget money for the sports industry. Why do you think governments are funding sports so heavily? Do you think this is an appropriate investment?

It is true that a lot of governments invest money in sports fields such as football or baseball. While there is an ongoing debate about whether the government should keep financing the sports industry instead of other benefits for the public, I firmly believe the government should fund sports. The main reason for funding sports is to strengthen their country’s image by sponsoring events. Normally, the result of the international competitive sports is regarded as the level of the country. Now that sports are one of the criteria for evaluating countries, the government puts a lot of money into exciting events that local people get interested in. With a lot of support from the citizens, sports players are enthusiastic, and they will be able to get a virtuous circle. For instance, the most famous game, Olympics, brings massive attention and bolsters their country's image. Overall, I support the idea that it is a proper investment from the view of national health and entertainment. Once the residents start to have an interest in sports, it tends to encourage fitness and stimulate the economy. In particular, Koreans love to go to see a baseball game, cheerleading the team. It helps people to relax and relieve work-related stress and moreover, has a positive impact on the economy near the stadium. To sum up, it is clear that there are a lot of advantages to boosting sports in the countries as it promotes the image of countries. Therefore, I strongly agree that investment in sports is essential.