Popular natural parks are experiencing damage due to the large number of visitors. What challenges does this bring, and what measures can be taken to preserve these areas?

Many famous nature parks today are seeing the harmful effects of mass tourism. This has created two major concerns: how to better maintain the natural environment and ensure that no unlawful activities occur. Educational training for visitors and strict law enforcement ought to resolve these problems. Firstly, with a large number of visitors, waste management is an issue. Although these parks have protected status and are often meant to conserve important species, people still litter these places with plastic waste, which can cause irreversible damage to entire ecosystems of animals and plants. Managing waste and maintaining the balance of the natural environment will, therefore, become the most challenging task for authorities. In addition, as more people start visiting these parks, it will attract more businesses. Food spots, entertainment hubs and recreation activities are some of the examples that are aimed at nature enthusiasts to generate more revenue. This, as a consequence, can lead to land encroachment of protected areas by businesses as demand grows. Such illegal activities are only possible because of a lack of oversight by the management, which eventually harms the surroundings. There are a few effective solutions to overcome these challenges. One of the measures is to ensure all visitors are given proper educational training about how to handle plastic waste. They could also be encouraged not to bring any outside food and eat only at the stationed food spots. Another check that must not be ignored by authorities is better enforcement of land rules, especially for shops and businesses. Operating outside of the provided perimeter must be penalised, because over time, businesses grow and tend to occupy space around them. For instance, resorts would need to expand their facilities once as bookings soar, and build new establishments over conserved areas. These measures will control the change caused to the natural environment and limit the damage as a result. To conclude, nature parks are constantly undergoing damage as more people visit. This has led to the need for better management of environment and the waste that people dispose of. In order to fight this, parks must have educational training for visitors to make sure they learn how to handle waste. Moreover, strict regulations and law enforcement must be undertaken to ensure that businesses do not cause any further harm to the environment.