Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than it's advantages . Do agree or disagree ?

Cars are considered an essential tool in modern society. In many countries, every family has at least one car and most people believe that it is something they could not live without. However, others claim that the disadvantages outweigh the positive sides. I believe that considering the current situation of public transports it would be impossible to replace the usage of this type of vehicle. Clearly, cars are a great means of transport for several reasons. First of all, they allow people to be independent and move around as they prefer. For instance, if we think about families, it is very important to be able to run errands or take children to school or even to sport practice. Moreover, they are often used to transport things around or to go on holidays. Recently, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, cars were the preferred mean of transport in order to avoid overcrowded places like trains or buses. It is undeniable that in most of the cities the availability of public transport is not sufficient to satisfy the needs of the population. On the other hand, many believe that the shortcomings of these vehicles are more than the benefits. For example, we are now facing a worldwide ecological crisis with global warming and air pollution and scientists are telling us that the massive number of cars are partially responsible. In addition, they are an economic burden for families since there are high yearly taxes and gasoline prices are constantly on the rise, especially now that the oil market is influenced by political disputes. Finally, beautiful cities are often affected by traffic that is not only a waste of time for the citizens but also dangerous for the preservation of monuments. To sum up, I believe that there are certainly multiple negative aspects related to the excessive use of cars. However, as a matter of fact, they are still a necessary item for most of the population and their advantages are more than the drawbacks. Their usage will probably reduce only when governments will increase their effort and investments in public transport services.